About my work

It was my father’s photographic expression that tought me how to see. My work with granite and black diabase is connected to his black and white photography, to my childhood. Light travelling on forms, edges and ridges cutting the light, darkening the next plane, generating varying intensities of grey, all the way to black. As a photography, a sculpture is also the product of careful construction (appraising the light, studying the subject, understanding its composition) ; drawing and the positioning of volume in space are fundamentals.

I am a sculptor of the monumental, but it is in small-scale sculptures, that I search for answers and find them.

I love going to quarries to find my stones. These quarries are extraordinary, some of them feel like cathedrals. Whether in Brittany, in Sweden or anywhere else, they make for spellbinding, captivating universes ; stones, volumes, textures, such wonders…Everything is possible, reality becomes unreal, unreality turns into reality.

Nature’s silence and music give way to the deafening noise of human activity, of machines able to lift stones weighing upward of 20 tonnes, pneumatic drills, black powder blasts used to breach the quarry frontline, echoing and bouncing around the walls of the quarry.

Weight, volume, mass… The hefting and handling of stone is of primordial importance – whether working on a small or a monumental scale. A sculpture’s visual balance and harmony is important in and of itself but also in view of its transport and installation. Hefting and handling stones and sculptures relies entirely on one’s ability to size them up with great precision.

Whatever the device being used to move a piece – a wooden broomstick, a crowbar, a jack, a hoist or a crane – thoughtfulness, communication and calm are of absolute necessity. Any form of improvisation is synonymous with danger. If a sculpture collides with a hard obstacle, it will break. Today, I am in full command of my techniques and I am thus able to detach myself from them, to dispense with questions that have become superfluous; such is the journey of a sculptor.

I like granite because it resists me. My work involves rough physical confrontation with the material. Granites are hard, deep, powerful. The slightest relief catches the light. Hence the need to pare things down to their very essence.

I like rigour to discipline emotion.

Granites are marvellously suited to a practice that focuses on texture. Hence the contrast between rough surfaces and soft volumes, highlighting the full power, strength and sensuality that I seek to convey in my sculptures. These fabulous materials afford great possibilities of expression and readability

As a sculptor, I need to evolve, to attempt things. Sculpture as I practise requires time, as well as major technical and financial means. I therefore work at a rather slow pace, which suits me as it allows time for reflection and unhurried maturation.

Sometimes, I begin work on a stone very quickly because its volume or its shape urgently call out

to me. But each of my sculptures has its origins in the discovery of the stone, in preparatory sketches and in oftentimes nocturnal thinking. There is no established order to any of this.

The sculpture I have in mind governs my choice of stone. It is important to let oneself be led.

My choice of stone will influence the sculpture. It is important to let oneself be led.

It is also important to let oneself be led by the accidents and serendipities of one’s material.

My sculpture requires minimal gesture. Simplicity is foremost in my thoughts, I must neither waste nor betray my material.

For rough surfaces, the gesture must be strong and precise, so as to avoid having to repeat it and tools scarring the surface, spoiling its power and its beauty. This requires control and confidence. The reward lies in witnessing light bringing to life rough surfaces that suddenly manifest their full depth and strength. With polished surfaces, the preparatory work carried out to draw out the shape reveals light travelling from one volume to the next, irisation and smooth shadows. The shape is assessed by hand, one’s fingers sensing the slightest of imperfections.

First and foremost, the shape must be perfectly drawn out. Polishing then amounts to the mere, methodical use of ever finer abrasives. This necessary, lengthy process provides time to think.

My sculpture is highly tactile, it is to be looked at using not only one’s eyes, but also one’s hands.

A PROPOS DE MON TRAVAIL

C’est à travers l’expression photographique de mon père que j’ai appris à voir. Mon travail avec les granits ou diabase noire me rapproche de sa photographie noire et blanche, de mon enfance; la lumière qui glisse sur les formes, l’arrête qui coupe la lumière pour assombrir le plan suivant et offrir ces différentes intensités de gris jusqu’au noir. De même qu’une photographie se construit (apprécier la lumière, étudier le sujet, en comprendre sa composition) la sculpture, c’est du dessin, du volume dans l’espace. Je suis un sculpteur du monumental, mais ce sont dans les petites sculptures et le dessin que je cherche et trouve.

J’aime partir en carrières pour trouver mes blocs, ce sont des mondes
fantastiques, certaines sont de véritables cathédrales. Qu’elles se trouvent en Bretagne, en Suède (pour la diabase noire) ou partout ailleurs sur le globe, c’est un univers envoutant, prenant; le merveilleux des blocs, des volumes, de la matière… Là, tout est possible, la réalité devient irréelle, l’irréalité devient réalité.

Aux silences, aux musiques de la nature, succède le bruit assourdissant de l’activité; les engins qui remontent des blocs pouvant peser plus de 20 tonnes, les marteaux piqueurs, les explosions à la poudre noire pour ouvrir les brèches dans le front de carrière et qui font rebondir avec insistance les fracas qui se répondent d’une paroi à l’autre.
Le poids, le volume, la masse… Que ce soit pour une pièce intimiste ou
monumentale, la manutention du moindre bloc a une importance primordiale. L’équilibre visuel d’une sculpture est particulièrement important pour elle-même mais aussi pour son transport et son installation. Sans la capacité à juger de cet équilibre, la manutention est totalement impossible. Cela fait partie de mon travail de sculpteur. Qu’il s’agisse de l’utilisation d’un manche de balai en bois pour déplacer une sculpture en la faisant rouler, d’un pied-de-biche, d’un cric, d’un palan pour la lever ou d’une grue pouvant déplacer plusieurs dizaines de tonnes, la réflexion, la communication et le calme sont une nécessité absolue.
L’improvisation est source de danger. Une sculpture qui heurte un obstacle dur, c’est le bris assuré. Je possède mes techniques (dégrossissage, taille, polissage, etc…) et je peux donc m’en détacher totalement, je n’ai plus besoin de me poser de questions superflues, c’est le cheminement normal d’un sculpteur.

J’aime le granit puisqu’il me résiste. Mon travail est une rude confrontation physique avec la matière. Les granits sont très durs, profonds, puissants. Le moindre relief accroche la lumière. D’où la nécessité d’épurer, d’aller à l’essentiel sans exagérer le relief.

J’aime la rigueur qui corrige l’émotion.

Les granits se prêtent merveilleusement bien au travail de la matière. La majeure partie de mes réalisations sont un prétexte à cela. D’où le contraste entre lamatière brute et les volumes adoucis faisant ressortir toute la puissance, la force et la sensualité que je souhaite traduire à travers mes sculptures. Ces fabuleuses matières offrent de grandes possibilités d’expression et de lisibilité.

Je suis un sculpteur qui a besoin d’évoluer, de tenter. La sculpture, telle que je la pratique, demande un temps de réalisation important, des moyens techniques et financiers conséquents. Le rythme est donc plutôt lent et me convient dans la réflexion et l’acquisition de la maturité au fil des années.
Il peut m’arriver parfois de me confronter très rapidement à un bloc parce que son volume, sa forme, m’appellent dans l’urgence. L’histoire de chacune de mes sculptures a pour origine la découverte du bloc, les croquis préparatoires, la réflexion souvent nocturne. Tout cela n’a pas forcément un ordre établi.
La sculpture détermine le choix du bloc. Il faut savoir se laisser guider.
Le choix du bloc fait évoluer la sculpture. Il faut savoir se laisser guider.
Il faut savoir aussi se laisser guider par les hasards de la matière et parfois laisser faire.
Ma sculpture réclame une économie de gestes. Je dois toujours avoir à l’esprit la simplicité, il ne faut ni galvauder ni trahir la matière.

Pour les surfaces brutes, il faut que le geste soit fort et précis, de façon à ne pas être obligé de le répéter, et ainsi perdre, par des traces d’outils, la puissance et la beauté de la matière. Il faut beaucoup de maîtrise et d’assurance. De ce travail dépend le réjouissement de la lumière qui vient animer la matière brute, lui donnant soudain toute sa profondeur et sa puissance. Pour les surfaces polies, le travail préparatoire primordial, qui consiste à tendre les formes, révèle le passage de la lumière d’un volume à l’autre, irisation ou ombres régulières… La forme se juge avec les mains, vous sentez sous les doigts toutes les imperfections du volume. Le polissage n’est que le passage successif méthodique d’abrasifs de plus en plus fins. Ce temps long nécessaire permet la réflexion.
Ma sculpture est très tactile, elle ne se regarde pas qu’avec les yeux, mais aussi avec les mains.